The Injustices of Cancer Part 2

Well this is a short follow-up to my latest blog on the Injustices of Cancer. The author of the article “The 6 Injustices of Cancer” has since edited the article and I just wanted to inform readers of my blog that the link I previously posted has been changed. However, even with that edited version I feel that the author has missed the mark here. She still states how people get off easy, which still puts across the message that there are cancers which are easy, which couldn’t be farther from the truth as there is NO easy cancer! When she still continues to state that cancer patients who don’t go through harsh treatments such as chemo and that they need to “sit down and be quiet” I feel she continues to belittle and diminish others’ cancer experience which shows such disrespect to them. I was very hurt by her thoughtless and insensitive remarks and she obviously did not do her homework very well.

We each have a unique story to tell and like I said in my previous comments is that I plan to use this as a teaching tool to not only educate others about Thyroid Cancer and its devastating effects, but also to demonstrate a united front among ALL CANCER SURVIVORS, no matter what type they have, because everyone needs to feel valued as their journey is just as important as the next person. I think there is a lesson to be learned among those in the journalism business to be careful and to choose their words a bit more wisely. On the flip side, I will be a bit more cautious on what I read and how I let it affect me! I know the living hell I have been through because of cancer and I know it’s not over by a long shot, but I will continue to keep pushing my way through it as I will not allow it to win! I will be stronger because of it!

Leave a Reply

